Tags

, , , , , ,

If you find yourself in downtown Waxahachie (as I do frequently), you must go and have a meal at Two Amigos Tacqueria on Jefferson Street.  It’s unpretentious in appearance and is frequently crowded as it only has 8-10 tables, but the food is definitely worth the wait.  The atmosphere leaves a little to be desired, especially when there is high table turnover, but if you are in the mood for the best Mexican food (and omlette) in the city, look no further.  The open kitchen concept allows you a front row seat into the preparation of your meal.  Everything is made from scratch from the chips to the whole wheat flour tortillas and it is all very reasonably priced.

If I’m in the mood for breakfast and I can’t talk my husband into cooking, then I try and talk him into taking me here for my favorite spanish omlette.  You can watch as the cook cracks the eggs and fills them with tomatoes, onions, jalapenos, and the perfect amount of cheese.  Then they plate it with deliciously seasoned potatoes and a side of refried beans.  However, whenever I’m in the mood for something savory and sweet, I sometimes 86 the beans and potatoes and add a pancake on the side.  Yum.  I believe pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc. should always be served on the side…always.

Spanish Omlette

Perhaps the best news is that the restaurant recently began selling breakfast all day…YES!  Because the last thing you should have to worry about in the morning is if you can make it to a restaurant before they stop serving breakfast.

My other love is their Chicken Tortilla Soup.  I won’t go into this one much, because the picture should say it all.  There are a lot of wonderful things in here.  It is different, and fresh, and delicious.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

For the meat lovers out there, it’s hard to beat their daily specials.  Their chicken enchiladas have peaked my interest and are next on my list to try.  They seemed like a popular choice the day they were on special and were enveloped in an appetizing green sauce.  On this particular day, My husband chose a 3 taco plate for about $6.

3 Taco Plate

He chose carne asada and lengua….and tricked me into taking a bite out of the “tongue” taco.  Thinking it was brisket, I agreed.  So as not to ruin our meal, he decided to hold out on telling me what I had tried until we were in the car.  He got quite a kick out of it.  Funny, funny man.  So my take on lengua….grayish in color, brisket-like but without the flavor and sauce, and way too wet/moist/ for my taste.  And for the record, he preferred the carne asada taco as well.

What to try:

1.  Spanish Omlette

2.  Chicken Tortilla Soup

3.  Green salsa

What I won’t be eating again (at least if I can help it):

Lengua “tongue” taco

