Tags

, , , , , , ,

Some of the best Italian food that you can get in Waxahachie is at Tuscan Slice.  Sister #6, Kara (10 years my junior), and I had a dinner and movie night.  It was the last few days of her holiday break from my alma mater, Baylor, and I wanted to do something fun before she headed back to Waco.

Me & Kara

One of my favorite things to do at a restaurant is order more food than I can possibly eat because I want to try EVERYTHING!  Tuscan Slice lets everyone do just this and they make it easy.  They have a Friends and Family menu that allows you to try many different things (served family style) at a fairly reasonable price.

Tuscan Slice - Friends and Family Menu

For $14.99 each, we had an amazing culinary adventure as we ate our way through the restaurant.  We started with the Tuscan Spring Salad, which is by far the best salad you can get in town!  It even has my husband hooked.  The flavors just work so well together.  If there’s one thing you MUST try at Tuscan Slice, it’s this salad.  It is good enough to make you an instant repeat customer.

Tuscan Spring Salad - Spring mix tossed in Italian vinaigrette, caramelized pecans, green apples, red onion and topped with blue cheese crumbles

Kara’s a big fan of spinach artichoke dip and I’m so glad we tried it here.  I love that it’s a baked dish, served warm with plenty of cheese and garlic flatbreads (very good by the way, and you receive a basket of them at your table upon sitting down).  And in case you’re wondering, we both that it was terrific and we absolutely ate every bit of the dip 🙂

Spinach Artichoke Dip

Next we chose a pasta course of Baked Ziti Formaggio.  It was slightly spicy which was good.  The cheese on top was great, but I think it could have also used Ricotta cheese mixed in with the sauce on the inside.

Baked Ziti Formaggio

Per our server’s recommendation, we chose the Chicken Marsala and we are so glad we did.  It was the favorite entree of the day.  There is an interesting mushroom sauce, which leaves you wanting more even after you’ve cleaned your plate.  At first, Kara was thinking about ordering the Chicken Picatta, but it had capers in it.  Kara had not had these before, so it was a good choice to avoid them.  They have a strong flavor that you either really like or really don’t like.  I’ve mentioned that I don’t like to be culinarily disappointed and I try and look out for others when I can.  So my advice to her and to anyone else…try capers first before you choose to put them all over your meal.  One option might be to ask the server to bring some on the side.

Chicken Marsala

Dessert was a Traditional New York Style Cheesecake.  We chose the plain version and choose to add raspberry sauce on the side.  The cheesecake had a delicious vanilla icing on the top of it, which was a nice touch.  The consistency was a little soft for my liking, but it was a decent slice of cheesecake, especially with the addition of the tart sweetness of the raspberry sauce.

Traditional N.Y. Style Cheesecake

A few bites to get the full flavor of the cheesecake itself and then Kara added the raspberry sauce.

Look at these drizzling skills!

So all of this for only a $32 bill.  Not bad, not bad at all.  What a tasty tour of the restaurant.  So I will most definitely be back to Tuscan Slice….who am I kidding….I actually went back the very next evening and the Artisan Pizza is wonderful, by the way.  I really liked the flavor and texture of the crust.  As a side note, I did try the homemade cream puffs…but I won’t be having them again.  Kind of like a doughnut in a super sweet pudding sauce.  I don’t think it is worth the calories.

Artisan Pizza - Pesto-ricotta, spinach, artichoke, mushrooms, roasted peppers, red onions, feta, calamata olives, garlic

Pizza or pasta, it’s hard to go wrong here.  So two days of tasty research has led us here….you’re welcome!

What to Order:  

1. Tuscan Spring Salad

2. Chicken Marsala  (also they are 1 for 2 on their Chicken Parmesan, so you’ve got a 50/50 chance of this dish being amazing)

3.  Spinach Artichoke Dip

4.  Artisan Pizza

