Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image

Braum’s is my fast food weakness.  Ever since I watched the documentary Food Inc., my fast food choices have been greatly limited.  If you haven’t seen Food Inc.yet, it’s an absolute must.  Sure a part of you (and me) would rather remain blissfully unaware of what happens to animals/meat we eat, but pretending bad things aren’t happening doesn’t change anything.  I’m not a vegetarian, I just care about the quality of my food and if the meat is not up to my standards, I’ll often choose to avoid it.  I’ve heard time and time again that we have a “vote” in what happens in the food industry every time we make a purchase…and I try to choose humane, responsible farming whenever possible.  It’s good for the environment, my body, and animals.

Image

Braum’s helps to make this way of eating a little easier.  For those of you that don’t know, the majority of the food served at Braum’s comes from their very own dairy/farm.  You will not find a Braum’s everywhere, because the owners believe their food should be fresh and they distribute it only as far as this practice will allow.  They have locations in Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri, Kansas and Arkansas.  Thankfully, there are some fast food restaurants that feel it’s important to serve meat and dairy that have not been feed additional hormones and antibiotics.  Image.

So enough of the heavy stuff, sometimes a girl just needs a nice, juicy burger.  Braum’s has great burgers and chicken sandwiches.  They also serve breakfast.  Even when I’m watching my calories, I can stop in to Braum’s for a grilled chicken sandwich that’s approximately 305 calories (without mayo) and a small fry for 120 calories.

ImageBraum’s is my go-to place for ice cream and frozen yogurt; I come here at least twice a week just for dessert.  The chocolate frozen yogurt is my favorite and one reason I love it is because it does NOT leave an unnatural after taste in your mouth like some frozen yogurt flavors from other places do.  Your taste buds will know that this is some high quality stuff.  When I really want to indulge in my chocolate cravings I choose a fudge brownie mix with chocolate frozen yogurt.  They add a brownie from their very own bakery and mix it all together into the perfect chunky blend.

ImageSo does Braum’s get it right every time….no.  Do they sometime make my fudge brownie mix different….well, they use to but I learned how to order it (you say “Fudge Brownie Mix with Chocolate Frozen Yogurt” so there is no room for error).  Do they sometimes serve food that’s a little cold…well, sure, every place does.  But Braum’s serves quality ingredients EVERY TIME and that’s what keeps me coming back day after day.  They care about the food they serve and for this…I say thank you and visit often.

What to Order:

1. 1/6 lb. cheeseburger – with mustard and no onions (If you have far to travel before you get to dig in, I recommend getting this smaller burger because it won’t get soggy)

2.  Grilled Chicken Sandwich – no mayo (about 300 calories)

3.  Small Fry – about 120 calories

4.  Fudge Brownie Mix with Chocolate Frozen Yogurt!!!!

5. Hot Fudge Sundae – the roasted almonds they add make this perfectly over the top!

–Calorie estimates gathered from some diet place online; these are not my own calculations.

If you know of more restaurants that celebrate high quality ingredients, please let me know!  I’d love to go and visit.

