Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The first time I tried going to Grimaldi’s, I got turned away as I arrived at an off-peak time and apparently it takes an hour to clean/air out/or whatever they do to their brick oven.  Not a problem.  My sister Kristin (#3) had mentioned this place was her favorite pizza place so I definitely knew I would find myself there sometime.  It was definitely appropriate that the first time I visited the restaurant, Kristin be there.  It was so great to be out to dinner with Kristin and Kandace (#2) and our guys.  I’m loving that we’re all grown up now.

After a day of shopping, we were definitely ready to sit down to some good food and conversation.  The wait was long, but we hung in there.  Grimaldi’s even brought over complimentary bread and oil for dipping since we were there awhile.  There was never a dull moment because a table full of kids was over on our left making pizzas and well, screaming.  Well, they were.  It looked like a couple of parents even picked up some additional kids just to bring to dinner.  So romantic restaurant, not so much.  Fun family atmosphere, definitely.  It was also nice to have a front seat to the kitchen window and see dough flying through the air while we waited on our meals.

I was beat after a very long day so I took the night off of ordering from the menu.  I left it up to the sisters to order that day.

Kristin, Kacey, & Kandace

After a little debate they decided on 2 pizzas.  It was a nice break to have someone order for me for a change.  Danny went with a calzone filled with mozzarella, ricotta, pepperoni, and just to be sure that my paws stayed out of it…anchovies.  They’re just too salty and a little too fishy tasting for me.

Calzone - Pepperoni and Anchovie

Danny thought there was too much cheese. Is that even a thing? I'm not sure enough cheese exists for there to be "too much".

And then came the pizzas…

Kandace's Fav: Pepperoni, Ham, Black Olive, Mushroom, Basil, and Extra Mozzarella - The more toppings the better!

Kristin and KaLynn(#8)'s Fav: Pepperoni, Mushroom, and Black Olive

NY style thin crust pizza for everyone!  Thanks for suggesting this place, Kris.  There are a few Grimaldi’s in Dallas.  Kristin insists that the best one is at Uptown (well, actually she said Brooklyn, but then she knew I was talking about somewhere I could actually drive to for dinner).  For now, I’ll just have to take her word for it.

 

 

 

 

