Tags

, , ,

There are two days in the year I prefer to stay in…New Year’s and Valentine’s Day. Restaurants are super crowded and filled with women that are excited to get the night off from cooking. Thankfully, I don’t have this problem, as every day is a cook-free day for me. So Danny doesn’t get to say that a night off of cooking is my present; he ends up having to be a little more original.

Yesterday we got into a conversation about how I was truly thoughtful last year as I designed a crossword puzzle filled with sayings and jokes we have between us. We had a great time laughing while he was trying to figure out the answers and I was so proud of myself for doing something that was this time consuming and thoughtful. As a side note, it was so good, I count it as my gift to him again this year…truly, it was pretty cool.

I mentioned to him that he didn’t get me a present/do anything special last Valentine’s Day and the subject was dropped quickly as I got caught up watching something on TV. I looked over and noticed he was quiet and on his computer. It wasn’t long and then he proudly proclaimed…I just looked at our bank statements from last year and I did do something for Valentine’s Day…I redid the bedroom. Poor guy, it really bugged him that he may have forgot me on Valentine’s Day. He is such a sweet one. I totally forgot that he redid our bedroom and by redo, I mean, he put in wood floors, added crown mold/baseboards/chair rails, encased the windows, painted the room, and helped choose linens for the bedroom. Not only is he a culinary whiz, but he can build just about anything out of wood. Yes, lucky again, I know.

20120214-195249.jpg

This year’s Valentine’s Day was perfectly low key and it was nice to not have our house under construction.

The 3 P’s of Valentine’s Day:

Pilates – a girl’s gotta exercise and you might as well do it while relaxing and lying down

Pizza and Big Bang Theory – because it’s a ritual Sheldon would be proud of

20120214-193315.jpg
Half supreme for him and half veggie for me

Pillows – Hey, don’t knock it. These super supportive neck pillows cost him as much as two dozen delivered roses on Valentine’s Day. So take a big sniff of your roses and think of me as I’m getting amazingly restful sleep that would make anyone jealous.

20120214-193613.jpg

The tiny travel size one will definitely alleviate the fights we have when I insist to take my giant pillow with me wherever I go. Now we’ll be able to take actual clothes in the suitcase instead of just my pillow! Ah, the lasting joys of Valentine’s Day. Can’t wait for next year.

