Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The best scone I have ever had was this summer while staying at Henderson Park Inn in Destin, Florida.

Henderson Park Inn, Destin, Florida 2011

Henderson Park Inn is an amazing bed and breakfast located right on a quiet beach. When I knew we would be traveling to Destin for a family wedding, this B&B was my #1 choice. It is a quaint New England style cottage set up with many amenities, including an amazing gourmet breakfast, box lunches on the beach, cookies and lemonade in the afternoons, and happy hour on their private beach.

The view from our first-floor room at Henderson Park Inn.

Breakfast included a wide-array of hot options, including made-to-order waffles and omelettes. It was easy to get distracted by all of the lovely aromas coming from the kitchen and overlook the section in the corner that included the most delicious blueberry scones. Now I had had scones before and I thought I knew what to expect, but when I took my first bite into the perfectly prepared scone it blew my expectations out of the water! Somehow the chef managed to create a scone with a crispy thin outer crust that encompassed a soft, cake-like inside. It was heavenly and I could not get enough. I ate at least two scones every day we were there. Now months later, I find my mind still daydreaming about the wonderful treat and wondering if I’ll ever find something that delicious closer to home.

The good news is that you don’t have to travel to Florida to get a decent scone, as the bakery at Whole Foods bakes up quite delicious ones. My typical favorite is their raspberry scone. It’s covered in sugar sprinkles and I really think they make a big difference.

20120325-183459.jpg

They also make blueberry scones that are topped with icing, but these are not even in the same league as their raspberry scones. Whenever my work has a brunch potluck, Whole Foods raspberry scones are my go-to-choice. I always secretly hope that my co-workers get distracted by the homemade items and overlook these goodies, as then that means I can have them all to myself and enjoy them over the next few days!

Whole Foods has done it again with their recent addition of cinnamon scones!

20120325-180703.jpg

These remind me of a grown-up version of the pecan spinwheels/rolls that I used to eat as a kid. The cinnamon scones also have the same consistency and texture of the raspberry scones that I love so much. This week, I also noticed that the bakery now has lemon scones and I’m very curious to try these out next. I have some hesitation because they look very similar to the blueberry scones that are only so-so, but I’ll never know until I give it a try. Perhaps it will be a good surprise and lemon scones will make my grocery list. If you get a chance to try them out before me, be sure to let me know what you think. If you know of other great scones in the DFW area, please do share!

And if you’re wondering if you should visit Henderson Park Inn….stop wondering and start booking. You won’t be sorry.

Where to Go/What to Order:

Whole Foods – Raspberry and Cinnamon Scones

Hendson Park Inn, Destin, FloridaΒ – Blueberry Scones

