Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Imagine it’s Sunday and you’re enjoying delicious fair and food truck foods at the DFW Truck Farm 5k Fun Run. Sure you did just walk 3.1 miles, but you doubt that that’s enough to burn off the grilled cheese, pizza, sweet potato tots, snow cone, and ice cream that you didn’t think twice about devouring. Then the thought pops into your head, “Oh, yeah….in 5 days I’ve got to fit into that red dress.” You immediately throw out the sweet potato tots (they weren’t that good anyway), down your ice cream cone (hey, you’ve got to look good but you didn’t just lose your mind, ice cream should be savored to the last bite), and make a 5 day plan that CANNOT fail; you don’t have a backup dress afterall, so failure is not an option.

Marble Slab - Good to the last bite.

Now I HATE counting calories. This blog will never be about calorie counting, so don’t worry about it turning into that kind of site. Not that there’s anything wrong with sites like that; in fact, they help me out from time to time when I need to shave some pounds off for bikini season. I’m a determined and highly motivated person and when this gets into the wrong hands (i.e. my Lose It App), I have the tendency to focus hard core on every little bite I’m putting into my body. It zaps the fun right out of food and turns me into a control freak that fears food because it might make me go into the dreaded “Red Zone”. The “Red Zone” for those of you without the Lose It App, is just when it tells me how many calories I went over on my daily calorie budget. Instead of the friendly “green” number of how many calories I still have to eat…it turns “red” and I feel ashamed that I have failed myself. This stupid thing was made for people like me. Gets me every time.

20120501-201416.jpg

The 5 Day Plan:

1. 1200 Calories a day – recorded on the Lose It App (a free App that makes logging your food as painless as the task can be)

2. Drink at least 75 ounces of water each day – more if I can do it without drowning

3. Exercise 2 hours each day – combination of Jillian Michael’s Killer Buns and Thighs that I just purchased for the “problem” area, pilates, average of 3.5 miles on the elliptical, and .5 miles around the block with my 10 lb. miniature schnauzer…hey, she’s tiny, that’s about all the poor girl can handle without the walk turning into a “carry”.

Daisy after a 1/2 mile walk

I made a plan and I stuck to it. I curbed my sweet tooth with Organic Greek Blueberry Oikos yogurt (90 calories), 1/2 cup of blackberries (31 calories), and 2 teaspoons of almonds (23 calories). As long as I had enough calories for this snack left over at the end of the day, I didn’t feel deprived. One night I was even able to go out for frozen yogurt and top it with fruit and nuts and still be within my 1200 calories.

The trick I learned was to not trust Lose It when it came to exercise. Sure, I logged my exercise along with the food for the day, but when it then tells you that you can add those exercise calories to the food column and eat more….I ignored it. If I’m burning 500 calories that day, I sure don’t want to eat it all back in food. I had only a few days and my red dress was haunting me in the closet. I made a healthy diet plan (without eating any traditional packaged/commercialized/fake sugar diet foods–I still kept it organic as best as I could) and I reached my goal. Nice try, Lose It…I didn’t fall for your tempting exercise = more food games.

My prize…..wearing my new red dress to a wedding without the need for Spanx! I did not really have an option NOT to diet. I’ve tried to put on this flesh-sucking contraption that women seem to swear by, but to no avail. In fact, it just made me completely sweaty and I never got that sucker up over my thighs and I thought I ripped it right in the middle, you know where, however that conveniently placed opening is supposed to be there. Fun, right? So when my sister, Kelly (#4), and I found this red dress I was hesitant to buy it when she said, “You’d probably need to lose 2 lbs or just wear Spanx.” I knew that I would be losing 2 lbs. I’m a girl without the Spanx option, plus, I panic if something is on my so tight I can’t get it off quickly. Needless to say, 5 days of water binging, calorie counting, and exercising 2 hours a day totally paid off!

Calorie counting is over, but what I will be continuing is Jillian Michael’s Killer Buns and Thighs workout! If she can shred and tone me in 5 days, imagine what we can do together over the next month or so?

