Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

What’s better than tasting the local cuisine at one of the great restaurants in the Bishop Arts District? Why sharing the streets with pampered pooches and adorable adoptables of course. On July 5th, the Bishop Arts District hosted the Dog Days of Summer. There were dog treats to be given, splash pools to be enjoyed, and Hunky’s corny dogs to be purchased street-side.

Outside of Hunky’s – Dog Days of Summer at Bishop Arts District

Cooling her paws in a splash pool. A few even took an ice cube to go.

My friend Valerie and a cute adoptable dog strutting his stuff. His harness says “Adopt Me”.

I had been wanting to try Hattie’s for awhile now, so Valerie happily agreed to join me. We are both fans of local and organic food and the Bishop Arts District is right up our alley. I have been putting Hattie’s off mainly because they do not include a menu on their website. For a girl that likes to plan ahead, this kind of thing bothers me a bit. I understand that restaurants specializing in seasonal foods are constantly changing the menu, but it’s at least nice to have a sneak peak…even a sample menu would help to give you an idea of what you are in for. Good thing for you guys, I took a few snapshots of the current menu…you’re welcome šŸ™‚

Hattie’s Menu – Appetizers/Salads. I love the idea of tomato bisque being served with mini grilled cheese!

Hattie’s Menu – Entrees

What I did find while researching online were tons of pictures of the food posted by previous patrons. The fried catfish and chicken and waffles seemed to be a theme woven throughout them, and this helped me to get excited about the place. The atmosphere at Hattie’s was bright and full of light with tables nicely adorned in white linens.

Hattie’s – Oak Cliff’s Bishop Arts District

We were seated in a table right by a window, which is my #1 preferred location when photographing at a restaurant. I am still greatly limited in my knowledge of photography, but the one thing I’ve figured out is that everything looks better with a little light in front or to the side. The Fried Green Tomatoes with Goat Cheese started us off. The sauce was slightly tangy and was similar to ranch dressing. The goat cheese at times overpowered the tomatoes; however, you can order this dish with or without the cheese. The app was a safe choice but there were several other interesting appetizers, like the Prosciutto Wrapped Black Mission Figs and the Maytag Blue Cheese Cheesecake, that Valerie and I both agreed that next time if would be fun just to order several of these and make a meal out of them.

Fried Green Tomatoes with Goat Cheese

Our entree choices were the Roasted Chicken and Carolina Succotash and the Pecan Crusted Catfish. And the winner is…

Roasted Chicken and Carolina Succotash -black-eyed peas, okra, tomatoes, corn

Pecan Crusted Catfish with Lemon Butter Sauce, Mashed Potatoes and Seasonal Vegetables

The roasted chicken was cooked well and was still tender and juicy when sliced. I also rather enjoyed the black eyed pea succotash (it was better than the simple mixed veggies). But when it really comes down to it, when in a restaurant with a flare for southern cooking, it’s never a bad idea to opt for something fried. The lightly fried but well seasoned catfish was hard to top with its creamy, buttery lemon sauce.

After the meal, the good thing was we still had room for dessert. Valerie made the excellent call of suggesting we each order our own dessert (you can see why she’s my friend, right?!). It was the Fried Fruit Pie with Coconut Ice Cream for her and the Banana Almond Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce and Vanilla Bean Ice Cream for me. And yes, any time I order a dessert containing bananas, I always take into consideration the fact that I’m mildly allergic, but darn it I love this fruit. Smoothies have never been the same since I had to give it up. Raw bananas = bad. Cooked bananas = good. So I rolled the dice and took my chances.

Fried Fruit Pie with Coconut Ice Cream

Banana Almond Bread Pudding with Bourbon Sauce and Vanilla Ice Cream

As for bread pudding, if you truly want to try one that I am completely in love with, you should opt for the White Chocolate Blueberry Bread Pudding from Whole Foods. They sell it in individual pans or they also sell it by the serving at the dessert bar.

Although the meal was good, it did not seem to be worth the $68 price tag (plus tip). I am eager to try their brunch, as I really want to sink my teeth into their chicken and waffles with their spiced maple syrup. When I reflect on any meal, it’s hard not to ask the question, “Would I rather have eaten at Danny’s Kitchen?” In this case, I would have, as when I got home, the lovely aroma of one (just one steak, mind you) of Danny’s perfectly seasoned and seared steaks filled the air….and I missed it.

